More on Empyrean Age

Yeah, I should post here a bit more often. Got lots of things I want to write about, but for now I’m going to write a bit more about the EVE expansion Empyrean Age. It seems I covered most of the mechanics a couple of weeks ago, the interesting thing however is how this was going to turn out on Tranquility. I think I can say it turned out good. People seem to be very excited and looking at topics like this, this and this it seems CCP succeeded in their mission.

Personally I’ve been having a lot of fun. My corporation directly signed up. My most flown ship last week has actually been the Punisher, which is lots of fun with lots of Rifter hulls around to blow up. It’s great to see all those random people, veterans and newbies, form up in fleets with eachother and attempt to blow up the other side without much complaining when they get blown up themself, I’ve barely seen whining so far actually. New unknown people stand up to take some initiative and lead fleets, one of these Caldari fleets actually blew up three Red Alliance carriers and reinforced their POS in Black Rise.

Yesterday I actually joined a Militia fleet instead of usual corp fleets just to check that out. Everyone joined Eve Voice, the people that didn’t/couldn’t got kicked from the fleet. The FC seemed to be a friendly and enthusiastic guy, but also seemed to be overly careful and I actually got the idea he hadn’t much actual PvP experience at all, but he made a plan and sticked to it. Things could’ve done a bit more efficient perhaps, but the guy was good in leading this sort of thing. And he seemed to be very excited about Factional Warfare, full of plans for the future. Fun to see people cooperating with eachother, trying to get more organized by creating channels and forums. New trade-hubs close to the frontlines emerge. People create Punishers and other frigates to give them away for free to people of the militia. Fun stuff.

I do wonder how it will persist. Seems to me that there are a lot of new corporations focusing on Factional Warfare and I’m sure those will continue to do so, but the complex conquering to take over systems seems to be a bit meaningless. Risk versus reward hasn’t really been rebalanced as I hoped for. Nobody is going to bother with those FW missions. People that just conquer complexes and run when they see an enemy get higher ranks, while people that have killed 20+ people still got 0.0 standing and that’s a bit.. wrong. (Kind of hard to fix though) Most efficient way of conquering complexes (and systems) seems to be just getting someone in an interceptor pulling away all the npc’s, while someone else captures the point. And that’s just wrong. Personally I see it just as a helpful tool to find PvP. PvP fun is the goal and the complexes/missions are just a tool. I’m not going to focus on conquering as many complexes as possible.

I’m curious to what will happen in the next weeks and in the next months. Likely is that CCP will balance and add some stuff to it, but I hope it won’t take them a half year again. I also still think Alliances should be allowed and hope they’ll fix that as well. And I’m looking forward to that trailer.

~ by Alright Jack on June 16, 2008.

5 Responses to “More on Empyrean Age”

  1. Wow, sounds like a blast! I currently training and playing an Alt in between my regular time with my Main, trying to raise my standing to join a faction.

    Once I join, I plan on writing about it. Until, I’ll be counting on you and Van Hemlock to update me on EA.

    CK

  2. Nice, I must try FW at some point! Not heard a bad thing about it, nice to see CCP get it so right first time!

  3. […] Nuyan: More on Empyrean Age […]

  4. Had to start a third account to be able to fight for the minmatar freedom!

  5. I beloved as much as you will receive performed proper here. The caricature is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. however, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be turning in the following. in poor health definitely come more earlier once more as precisely the same just about very ceaselessly within case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

 
