Seems CCP pulled off a virtual 9/11

And holy shit, it’s amazing. Read about it here and checkout that video broadcast, which is a teaser trailer for the new expansion. And that trailer is amazing, especially the first time when it was totally unexpected for me, must have watched it 20x times myself by now. It’s short and brutal, nice voice-casting and has some scary alarm as music in the background. It made me shiver a bit the first few times. I’m sure I’m not the only one who directly thought about 9/11 (or Pearl Harbor). It also directly has a smell of conspiracy (just like 9/11 and also Pearl Harbor), it was a peace-price winning Admiral after all, there’s something fishy going on.

Good stuff. CCP also just launched the feature page for the new expansion, click here. That banner alone is worth staring at.

But personally I found out something yesterday that lowered my excitement drastically. It seems that corporations have to leave their alliance to participate in Factional Warfare. I heard that rumor before, but thought that CCP couldn’t be silly enough to be – that – stupid. Reading that feature page it also seems individual people have to leave their corporation to sign-up for Factional Warfare…. Seriously, what the heck are they thinking?

It’s not a big thing for my alliance, as PIE is the only corporation in it, but I think our case is a minority case. Most of our enemies and allies are in a completely different position. This would mean that a 0.0 controlling alliance like CVA could impossibly participate in Factional Warfare.

I still hope I am misinterpreting this stuff or CCP better come up with some very good arguments behind this decision in the next dev-blogs.

~ by Alright Jack on May 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
