The must-read EVE articles

/edit: Updated this a few times since I first posted it. EVE Online has received a lot more coverage in the last year and there’s now much more interesting stuff to find on the more mainstream sites. Still, I would say that the list I compiled here show the essentials.

I’m sure it’s been done before, but I felt like posting the must-read EVE articles on my blog, so I can keep track of them myself and so I can quickly forward them to other people. It’s useful to have some good EVE articles to help you explain your non-EVE playing friends why you’re ‘wasting’ your time playing this game, or to convince them to start playing themself. So here I’ll post the best EVE articles I know, articles that are mostly understandable for non-EVE players or even non-gamers.

So to the people new to EVE. Go read these articles and you’ll have a few hours of reading pleasure. And to all others, well, perhaps you’ve missed one of them in the past.

The Great Scam It’s one of the oldest infamous EVE tales, a long story of how someone turns into a bastard that does one great scam, back in the time when 1M ISK was still – a lot – of ISK.
The Invasion Unpublished article of Jim Rossignol, accessible and well-written story about 0.0 warfare back in 2005.
GHSC in PC Gamer Famous story about the heist of the Guiding Hand Social Club corporation, a year-long infiltration.
The Spy Game More recent article on shacknews with the Mittani about Goonswarm Intellegence Agency, lots of stuff about meta-gaming and how Lokta Volterra got destroyed. Not very objective, but it isn’t intended to be.
The Bears and the Rat
Another shacknews article on EVE, this time it’s about Goonswams allies, the Red Alliance. A tale of survival.
10 Years of CCP Not a story about some ingame happening, but a write-up about 10 years of CCP by Eurogamer. It got a history part about CCP and EVE Online, but more importantly, to me it exactly explains the greatness of EVE. The sandbox principle and the vision of CCP CEO Hilmar Pétursson.
(New) The Great War – Another more recent write-up of Jim Rossignol about the Great War of the last few years.
(New April  ’09) Should’ve posted this time a long time ago, but Jim Rossignol has written several articles on EVE Online for Eurogamer: Getting into EVE Online, combat basics, alliance wars, Politics, Trade & Industry and Battle Reports. Excellent reads for new players, but certainly worth it for experienced players as well, the last one is my favourite of the bunch.
(New April ’09) Sins of a Solar Spymaster: Several articles written by The Mittani of Goonswarm on TenTomHammer. Entertaining.

There’s also the big 700B ISK EIB scam, which might be worth reading into.

These are the articles I’d show to someone that I want to ‘convert’ to EVE.

ps. There’s chance I missed some, post ’em please!

~ by Alright Jack on April 6, 2008.

3 Responses to “The must-read EVE articles”

  1. […] all blog-wise. I’ve also updated my essential EVE reading list with the PCGamerUK article on the Great War of a while […]

  2. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of
    content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 pictures.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

  3. Thank you for any other wonderful article. Where else may
    anybody get that kind of information in such an ideal approach of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such info.

Leave a Reply

 
